Author and Era Teacher Resources

Find Author and Era lesson plans and worksheets
Showing 1 - 24 of 165 resources
Lesson Planet

The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle: KWHL

For Teachers 3rd - 7th Standards
After completing the 11th chapter of The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle by Avi, take part in a KWHL chart driven by the question,When is it appropriate and admirable to defy authority? Focusing on codes of conduct, scholars...
Lesson Planet

Novel Ideas: History of the American Novel

For Teachers 9th - 12th
Explore the history of the American novel in the contexts of literature and US history. How does a novel or piece of writing from a particular time showcase the mood during that historical period? After conducting research and discussing...
Lesson Planet

The Outsiders: The K-W-H-L Strategy

For Teachers 6th - 8th
What does your class know about the 1960s? Introduce your unit on S.E. Hinton's The Outsiders with a K-W-H-L chart, which encourages kids to list what they already know about the time period, what they would like to know, how they plan...
Lesson Planet

The Cure: Concept Vocabulary Analysis

For Teachers 9th - 12th
Considering a study of science fiction, speculative fiction, and/or dystopian fiction? Check out this concept analysis of Sonia Levitin's The Cure. The guide provides enough information to let you know if her novel would fit your needs.
Lesson Planet

Teaching The Great Gatsby: A Common Core Close Reading Seminar

For Teachers 11th - 12th
The 41 slides in a professional development seminar model how to use close reading techniques to examine the many layers of F. Scott Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby. In addition to passages from the novel, slides provide biographical...
Lesson Planet

Core Curriculum Lesson Plans for The Lions of Little Rock

For Teachers 5th - 7th Standards
Schools in the 1950s and 60s looked very different from the schools we know today. An educator's guide explores the civil rights movement and, specifically, the process of integrating schools. Questions cover key themes in the novel and...
Lesson Planet

Pride and Prejudice: Study Guide

For Teachers 9th - 12th Standards
Fans of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice could probably watch a different adaptation of the classic tale every day for a year and still not view them all. A study guide outlines information about the novel, the history surrounding it,...
Lesson Planet

Sense and Sensibility: Study Guide

For Teachers 9th - 12th Standards
Jane Austen wrote the book on matchmaking and romance in eighteenth and nineteenth century England. A study guide for theatrical adaptation of Sense and Sensibility discusses the historical and social context of the classic novel....
Lesson Planet

The Reader’s Guide to Emily Bronte's Wuthering Heights

For Students 9th - 12th Standards
Researching the characters, setting, and background history of a work of literature enhances interest and improves reading comprehension. An interactive website contains a wealth of resources related to Emily Bronte's novel Wuthering...
Lesson Planet

An Educator’s Guide to Ruta Sepetys

For Teachers 7th - 10th Standards
Historical fiction novels give readers a chance to step into someone else's shoes. An educator's guide from Penguin Common Core Lesson Plans provides resources to accompany three historical fiction novels written by Ruta Sepetys: Between...
Lesson Planet

Pride and Prejudice: KWHL

For Teachers 7th - 10th Standards
How much does your class know about the setting of Pride and Prejudice? Explore Jane Austen's romantic world with a KWHL chart that helps kids note what they already know about 18th century England, what they want to know, how they will...
Lesson Planet

Pride and Prejudice: ABC book (Vocabulary Activity)

For Teachers 7th - 10th Standards
Master Jane Austen's language from A to Z with an activity based on Pride and Prejudice. As kids read the novel, they find (or are assigned) words that begin with each letter of the alphabet, and create one-page documents that show the...
Lesson Planet

Setting in To Kill a Mockingbird

For Students 7th - 12th Standards
Can you understand more about how a person acts by learning about how that person lives? An interactive resource explores the setting of Harper Lee's To Kill a Mockingbird with several slides discussing the location, social conditions,...
Lesson Planet

Gone Crazy in Alabama: Novel Study

For Teachers 5th - 8th Standards
Life isn't always sweet in Alabama. A study guide for the novel Gone Crazy in Alabama introduces readers to life in the rural South and explores one character's experiences there. In addition to answering basic reading comprehension...
Lesson Planet

What Were They Thinking Then, What Are We Thinking Now?

For Teachers 11th - 12th
Choosing an issue from a play or novel, researchers find two primary sources from different time periods to compare how people's views have changed. Many questions are listed to guide young writers. In the end, learners produce a...
Lesson Planet

The Color Purple: K-W-H-L Strategy

For Teachers 7th - 12th
Learners can chart what they know, what they would like to know, how they plan to learn, and what they have learned from Alice Walker's The Color Purple. Using questions about women's rights, kids study the themes of the novel and think...
1 In 1 Collection
Lesson Planet

Jim Crow and the Fight for Civil Rights

For Teachers 7th - 8th Standards
The history of voting rights in America has always been rocky, especially in the time period after the Civil War. Learn about the ways that Jim Crow laws affected the voting rights of African Americans with a lesson featuring primary...
Lesson Planet

A Novel Idea

For Teachers 5th
Fifth graders read a historical novel. In groups they reenact chapters of the novel.
Lesson Planet

Novel Jeopardy

For Teachers 3rd - 8th
Play a classroom version of the classic game show Jeopardy, to review and discuss the novel your class has been reading. Questions about plot and other story elements are written on cards and given point values. Divide the class into...
Lesson Planet

The Wednesday Wars: Concept Analysis

For Students 5th - 8th
The Wednesday Wars is the focus of this resource designed for first-time teachers of Gary Schmidt's Newbery Award winning novel. 
Lesson Planet

Dragonwings: Evaluate Chapters 10-12

For Teachers 6th - 8th
As your class finishes the novel Dragonwings, use these culminating projects. A vocabulary list is given for chapters eleven and twelve and either an epitaph or letter activity concludes the book. The final project consists of creating a...
Lesson Planet

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer

For Teachers 7th - 11th
Middle and high schoolers practice informative and explanatory writing by exploring The Adventures of Tom Sawyer. They identify games and pastimes of the time period in the novel and compare them to modern games and pastimes. Using this...
Lesson Planet

A Christmas Carol: Study Guide

For Teachers 9th - 12th Standards
A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens has delighted readers for generations. An in-depth study guide gives an overview of an adaptation of the classic story for the stage. Along with summaries of the plot and key characters, theater goers...
Lesson Planet

Jane Austen's Life

For Teachers 9th
Ninth graders are introduced to Jane Austen's life, the time period she lived in, and "Pride and Prejudice". They discuss the rules of etiquette that govern relationships between men and women today and compare those to the rules during...

Browse by Subject


Author and Era