Refine Your Results

Content Curators

Grades

Subjects

Resource Types

Standards

Now... gain access to over 2 Million curated educational videos and 500,000 educator reviews to free & open educational resources

Get a 10 Day Free Trial

46 resources with the concept the hobbit

Videos (Over 2 Million Educational Videos Available)
Phonics Song 2 (new version) Video
2:54
Phonics Song 2 (new version)
Population Genetics Video
2:45
Population Genetics
Volcano Video
4:37
Volcano
Other Resource Types (46)
Lesson Planet

The Fellowship of the Ring

For Students 6th - 12th Standards
Here's a must-have resource for educators who use J.R.R. Tolkien's The Hobbit and/or The Lord of the Rings. Packed with materials for both tales, the packet includes both a reader's guide and an educator's guide, lesson plans, vocabulary...
Lesson Planet

The Hobbit

For Teachers 7th - 12th
Here’s a series of exercises designed to be used after readers have finished reading The Hobbit. Pairs identify the speaker of a series of quotes, match characters with qualities, and provide evidence from the story to support their...
Lesson Planet

Plan Your Unexpected Journey

For Teachers 6th - 8th
Leave your hobbit hole and start an adventure with J. R. R. Tolkien's timeless tale of dwarves, dragons, and hobbits.
Lesson Planet

Literature Study Guide - The Hobbit

For Students 7th - 9th
With several online resources for J.R.R. Tolkien's The Hobbit, as well as many reading and literary analysis activities, this novel study guide is a great way to keep your young readers organized during a book report. The guide includes...
Lesson Planet

Narrative STEM Lessons

For Teachers K - 6th Standards
Read on if engineering interests you. Instructors peruse a set of narrative STEM lessons for grades K-6. All activities are based on reading a children's book and then solving a problem using the engineering design process.
Lesson Planet

The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe

For Teachers 5th Standards
Compare and contrast popular works of fantasy literature with an in-depth reading comprehension unit. Language arts learners study the theme of good versus evil, fantastical characters and symbols, and the value of a visual...
Lesson Planet

The Hobbit: Novel Study

For Teachers 6th - 8th Standards
All it takes is a little adventure to interrupt a quiet, simple life. A study guide for The Hobbit explores the adventures that disrupt Bilbo Baggins' quiet life. Questions discuss key events found within J.R.R. Tolkien's novel and...
Lesson Planet

The Hobbit

For Teachers 6th - 12th Standards
From dragons to dwarves, from riddles to rings, the great adventure story of The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien has captivated generations of readers of all ages. An educator's guide explores the novel's literary elements, including the...
Lesson Planet

Tolkien's Sources: Where Did All of This Come From?

For Teachers 7th - 12th
Fans of Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit will enjoy this presentation that traces the sources of the names in J.R.R. Tolkien’s works. Did you know, for example, that “Orcs” comes from the Old English word for demon?
Lesson Planet

History of the English Language

For Teachers 9th - 12th
How was the English language formed? Before reading The Hobbit, glance back and trace the development of the English language with your class. Maps and bulleted lists help learners understand the influences that created Old English. 
Lesson Planet

Acronyms--Characters in The Hobbit

For Teachers 8th - 10th
Have your class create acrostic poems for characters in The Hobbit. First, define acronyms and work together to complete sample acronyms for their own first names. Young scholars then research specific characters in the novel and create...
Lesson Planet

Etymology: A Mini-Lesson on Teaching a Word's History

For Teachers 8th - 11th
As you're reading The Hobbit with your class, show them the etymology of the word attercop. This presentation would benefit with some additional examples or with a practice slide that offers a list of words from the book that pupils must...
Lesson Planet

Descriptive Writing-The Hobbit

For Teachers 9th - 12th
Young readers write a descriptive paper on the fantasy characters in The Hobbit. They take notes as they read the novel in order to provide descriptions of the character traits of hobbits, dwarfs, trolls, wizards, and goblins. They pay...
Lesson Planet

Descriptive Writing - The Hobbit

For Teachers 11th - Higher Ed
Hobbits, dwarfs, wizards, trolls, and goblins. Readers track these fantastic creatures through J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit noting passages of character description and  scenery changes. Using specific passages from the novel, class...
Lesson Planet

Magical Creatures Land

For Teachers 3rd - 5th
The opening of J.R.R. Tolkein’s The Hobbit provides a model of how to use rich details to create a setting. After reading the description of Bilbo Baggins’ abode, young writers create their own magical home for a fantasy creature. The...
Lesson Planet

Narrative Writing - The Hobbit

For Teachers 10th - Higher Ed
Hobbits, dwarfs, wizards, trolls, and goblins. Readers track these fantastic creatures through J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit noting passages of character description and habitats. Using specific passages from the novel, class members craft...
Lesson Planet

Comparing Themes

For Teachers 9th - 12th
Compare and contrast the themes of two works by J.R.R. Tolkien. High schoolers read The Hobbit and The Fellowship of the Ring, Then they write an essay that compares the themes found in each novel.
Lesson Planet

The Hobbit - Essay Questions

For Students 7th - 12th
In this literature worksheet, students respond to 4 short answer and essay questions about Tolkien's The Hobbit. Students may also link to an online interactive quiz on the novel at the bottom of the page.
Lesson Planet

The Hobbit Study Questions & Essay Topics

For Students 8th - Higher Ed
In this online interactive literature worksheet, students respond to six short answer and essay questions about Tolkien's The Hobbit. Students may check some of their answers online.
Lesson Planet

The Hobbit

For Students 4th - 7th
In this The Hobbit worksheet, students review and discuss the forty-eight characters and key terms from The Hobbit and circle each one in a word search puzzle.
Lesson Planet

Narrative Writing--The Hobbit

For Teachers 9th - 12th
Hobbits, dwarfs, wizards, trolls, and goblins. Readers track these fantastic creatures through J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit noting passages of character description and habitats. Using specific passages from the novel, class members craft...
Lesson Planet

The Hobbit Quiz

For Students 9th - 12th
In this online interactive reading comprehension worksheet, learners respond to 25 multiple choice questions about Tolkien's The Hobbit. Students may submit their answers to be scored.
Lesson Planet

Persuasive Drawing

For Teachers 10th - Higher Ed
Learners read The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien to then complete a persuasive art project for the novel. In this literature and art lesson, students read the book and determine their preference for the story giving facts to support. Learners...
Lesson Planet

Word Scramble on The Hobbit

For Teachers 10th - 12th
Students complete a word scramble activity for vocabulary from J.R.R. Tolkien's The Hobbit. For this word scramble lesson, students unscramble the letters from the novel to form the name of the character or his habitat. Students write a...